Little Guide to Costa Rica

Costa Rica is probably the most expensive country in Central America, backpackers know about that and rapidly make their way through the country in search of cheaper destinations. However it’s also the most developed country I’ve been to so far in many cases similar to Spain in a way, so the costs go up but are still pretty decent.

First stop in Costa Rica was Liberia where I spent the night. I recommend the hostel close to the main square called El Tope. I payed 10USD for a private room. Other than that there’s not much to see in Liberia. The boss at the hostel recommended me to visit the Nicoya Peninsula, so that was my next destination.

Nicoya Peninsula

I stopped at Samara first, it’s a little surf-tourist town in the upper coast of the Peninsula. It had a nice beach but the town was very pricy, besides it’s a nightmare to get from here to Montezuma by land. The easiest way to get to the Montezuma/Mal Pais beaches is to get to Puntarenas first and take a boat to Paquera, it’ll take about an hour to get there and only costs 2USD. Then take a bus to Montezuma which is about another hour. There are cheap hostels by the beach where you can get private room for 10USD.

I recommend going to the waterfalls just of the main road, it’s a 20minute walk from town, there’s a little jump into the water which is nice. I didn’t get to Mal Pais and Santa Teresa but from what I’ve heard it sounds pretty nice.

San Jose

In San Jose I found two very cool hostels and they’re from the same company apparently. Hostel Pangea is in the centre next to Parque Morazán, it’s 14USD for a Dorm (not that cheap compared to other countries) but it’s got a wonderful swimming pool and a really party vibe. Hostel Toruma is a little further out in junction between Carretera Interamericana and Calle 29. This is a beautiful little house with very tall ceilings and nice privates and dorms, and it also has a swimming pool!

I stayed in San Jose for over two weeks while I was taking care of my wrist injury (a f?$*ing annoying tendinitis). In those days I had time to walk around town, I strongly recommend you visit the Mercado Central and order a Ceviche or a Carne de Olla in one of the little sit-and-eat places. I dare you finish the dish!

Other things you can do in San Jose is take the Bungee Jumping tour! I still don’t understand what went through my brain when I called in to book a morning tour, but I ended up jumping and it was the most intense (that’s the word) stuff I’ve ever done.

Puerto Viejo

I met a really nice group of Costa Rican friends in San Jose and they invited me to an incredible weekend in Puerto Viejo on the caribbean coast of Costa Rica. This is a must see. The best thing to do is to rent a bike for the day at Puerto Viejo and to follow the road towards Margarita. The are wonderful beaches along the way, I recommend Punta Uva, very close to paradise.

Manuel Antonio

And last stop in Costa Rica was the lovely park of Manuel Antonio. More than a quarter of Costa Rica’s territory is a natural reserve of some kind and there are plenty of National Parks to visit. Manuel Antonio is on the Pacific side and I stopped there for a few days on may way down towards Panama. The beaches and sunsets in town are beautiful and the diversity of flora and fauna that you find inside the park is incredible. However the animals are a little stressed out and spoiled by tourists; raccoons have becomed so accostumed to human presence that they freely wonder on the beaches stealing stuff from purses and handbags.

And that was it for Costa Rica, a pretty intense time I must say and a lovely country indeed.

Please leave your thoughts below, and share the post if you enjoyed the story 😉

Costa Rica is probably the most expensive country in Central America, backpackers know about that and rapidly make their way through the country in search of cheaper destinations. However it’s also the most developed country I’ve been to so far in many cases similar to Spain in a way, so the costs go up but are still pretty decent.

First stop in Costa Rica was Liberia where I spent the night. I recommend the hostel close to the main square called El Tope. I payed 10USD for a private room. Other than that there’s not much to see in Liberia. The boss at the hostel recommended me to visit the Nicoya Peninsula, so that was my next destination.

Nicoya Peninsula

I stopped at Samara first, it’s a little surf-tourist town in the upper coast of the Peninsula. It had a nice beach but the town was very pricy, besides it’s a nightmare to get from here to Montezuma by land. The easiest way to get to the Montezuma/Mal Pais beaches is to get to Puntarenas first and take a boat to Paquera, it’ll take about an hour to get there and only costs 2USD. Then take a bus to Montezuma which is about another hour. There are cheap hostels by the beach where you can get private room for 10USD.

I recommend going to the waterfalls just of the main road, it’s a 20minute walk from town, there’s a little jump into the water which is nice. I didn’t get to Mal Pais and Santa Teresa but from what I’ve heard it sounds pretty nice.

San Jose

In San Jose I found two very cool hostels and they’re from the same company apparently. Hostel Pangea is in the centre next to Parque Morazán, it’s 14USD for a Dorm (not that cheap compared to other countries) but it’s got a wonderful swimming pool and a really party vibe. Hostel Toruma is a little further out in junction between Carretera Interamericana and Calle 29. This is a beautiful little house with very tall ceilings and nice privates and dorms, and it also has a swimming pool!

I stayed in San Jose for over two weeks while I was taking care of my wrist injury (a f?$*ing annoying tendinitis). In those days I had time to walk around town, I strongly recommend you visit the Mercado Central and order a Ceviche or a Carne de Olla in one of the little sit-and-eat places. I dare you finish the dish!

Other things you can do in San Jose is take the Bungee Jumping tour! I still don’t understand what went through my brain when I called in to book a morning tour, but I ended up jumping and it was the most intense (that’s the word) stuff I’ve ever done.

Puerto Viejo

I met a really nice group of Costa Rican friends in San Jose and they invited me to an incredible weekend in Puerto Viejo on the caribbean coast of Costa Rica. This is a must see. The best thing to do is to rent a bike for the day at Puerto Viejo and to follow the road towards Margarita. The are wonderful beaches along the way, I recommend Punta Uva, very close to paradise.

Manuel Antonio

And last stop in Costa Rica was the lovely park of Manuel Antonio. More than a quarter of Costa Rica’s territory is a natural reserve of some kind and there are plenty of National Parks to visit. Manuel Antonio is on the Pacific side and I stopped there for a few days on may way down towards Panama. The beaches and sunsets in town are beautiful and the diversity of flora and fauna that you find inside the park is incredible. However the animals are a little stressed out and spoiled by tourists; raccoons have becomed so accostumed to human presence that they freely wonder on the beaches stealing stuff from purses and handbags.

And that was it for Costa Rica, a pretty intense time I must say and a lovely country indeed.

Leave a Reply

